People, Friends & Connections

Close by Me allows you to manage your contacts and build an online network of people you follow and interact with. Within Close by Me, you can add new friends in the community, invite outside friends and follow friend’s message feeds. 

You can perform the following actions using the features of the Close by Me Actions tab in the people, friends and connections section:

View People and Friends on Close by Me

In Close by Me you can view people /or friends in a similar manner as message posts. By accessing the people or friends link from the side menu bar, you will have the ability search for people and friends in the Close by Me community. You can search by city or postal/zip code, distance and an optional key word to find any user by their user name. Similarly, you can also >view friends on Close by Me using the features of the Friends module.

To view the people and friends:

  • Select people or friends from the right menu bar.
  • The People and Friends page is displayed with a list of people and friends based on the search attributes selected.
  • Adjust search criteria for starting location, distance and optional keyword
  • Click on search

Note: You can choose any option: People-people on Close by Me or Friends- your friends on Close by Me. When you open either of the two, you will find the other option displayed on the page. On the retrieved general people list, any friend you have in the system will be indicated with a “friend” icon next to their username

Viewing a User’s Profile

Once you have located a user or friend by searching, you can view their profile by either expanding the section below their name, or clicking into their profile.

To view a user profile:

  • Select People or Friends on Close by Me side menu bar. The People and Friends page is displayed with a list of people and friends based on the search attributes selected.
  • Click the '+' icon to view the user details. The details of user profile are displayed.

 Viewing a User’s Posts

Another great feature of the system is the ability to read message posts that users and friends have posted in to the system. Within each user’s profile is a link that allows you to view posts from that user.

To View a User’s Posts:

  • Select People or Friends on Close by Me side menu bar. The People and Friends page is displayed with a list of people and friends based on the search attributes selected.
  • Click the '+' icon to view the user details. The details of user profile are displayed.
  • Click View User Postings in the User Profile area. The list of user posts is displayed, Or
  • After you click into a user’s profile, click on the View User Postings link

  • Click the post link to view the complete description of the post.
  • The Sort By drop down list allows you to view the posts by username, distance, message posts, and the status of the post.

Searching for a Friend

Close by Me has several search options which help you to search a friend. You can view the details of your friends by clicking Personal Connections tab on the Home page or navigate to the Friends module.

To search a friend:

  • Click the Personal Connections tab on the Home page.
  • Click Friends in range in the Friends section.

  • The Friends page is displayed with a list of your friends.

You can adjust how you search for friends by doing the following:

  • Select Search by City or By Postal Code.
  • Select a city from the City drop-down list.
  • Enter a keyword in the Keyword text field.
  • Enter a postal code in the Postal Code text field.
  • Select a distance from the Distance drop-down list.
  • Select whether you want view posts from all members or only post from your friends.
  • Click Search.
  • Select a filter option from the Sort By drop-down list to view the search results by relevance.

Viewing and Removing Friends from Friends’ List

Close by Me allows you to not only add people on Close by Me to your friends list and also remove them from the list. After logging in, you can navigate to the Friend’s section.

To remove a contact:

  • Select Friends-your friends on Close by Me option from the Close by Me Actions tab in the right panel of the Posts module.
  • The Friends page is displayed with a list of friends based on the search attributes selected.

  • Click Remove from the list.
  • The contact is removed from your friends list.

Inviting Friends & Friend Invites

Close by Me is a social networking application allowing you to invite your friends to register with Close by Me, add them to your friends list. You can also interact with the existing members and add them to your list of friends.

Inviting External Friends to Join Close by Me

You can navigate to the Friends section after logging in.

To invite your friends:

  • From the Close by Me Actions tab on the right panel, select Invite Friends- invite your friends by Email option. The Invite Friends to Close by Me page will be displayed.

  • In the “invites” box, type in a list of friend’s emails you want to invite, by typing in their valid email addresses, separated by commas.
  • Next, type in a custom message you would like to send out in your invitation email.
  • Click “Invite Friends”
  • The system will try and determine if each of the emails in your list is valid, already a member, or has already been invited.
  • An error message is displayed in the Friends Imported Status area if you enter an invalid email address.

  • If the email address is valid and this person is not already been invited, you will see a notification of a successful invite

  • You can view the status of invites on the Personal Connections page and re-invite if necessary.
  • The invited individuals will receive an invitation email (make sure they check their Spam or bulk folder)

Sending Invites to an Existing Member

In addition to inviting outside members to join you as a friend on Close by Me, you can also invite and connect with existing members. This allows you to follow their message posts in the community and interact. You can invite people by searching for them in the system, close by you in the People and Friends section; or you can invite people directly from a user’s profile.

To invite your friends:

  • Navigate to the People & Friends section after logging in.
  • From the Close by Me Actions tab on the right panel, select People- people on Close by Me option. The People and Friends page is displayed.

  • Click '+' icon to view the user profile.
  • You can find the invite option on the bottom of the page displayed.

  • Click Invite.
  • Close by Me sends an invitation mail to the user's mail address.

Accepting & Rejecting Invites

Close by Me keeps you informed of status of invites may it be invite you sent to any friend or an invite you receive from an existing member. You receive an invitation mail when a friend invites you to the list of friends.

To review, accept or reject invites:

  • Do one of the following:
    • Click Personal Connections tab on the Home page.
    • You can view the status of invites on this page.
    • Click on Friend Requests option here to view the status of invites

    • You can also access Friend Request information from the side menu bar.

  • The Friend Requests – the pending requests page is displayed by default. You can view the status of the invites that are pending, accepted, or rejected in the navigation links area.

  • You can accept a request by clicking the check icon, or
  • You can reject a request by clicking the x-mark icon
  • You can click the '+' icon to view invite text.
  • The accepted invites are added to the list on Friend Requests - Accepted page, where you can elect to reject a previously accepted invite.

  • The rejected invites are added to the list on Friend Requests - Rejected page, where you can elect to accept a previously rejected invite.

Viewing the Status of the Invites Sent

Close by Me allows you to review invites you have sent, received, accepted, or rejected. You can find the information on the Personal Connections page. Or you can navigate to the Friends section on the side menu bar after logging in order view the status of your invites.

To view the status of invites you sent:

  • Do one of the following:
    • Click Personal Connections tab on the Home page
    • You can view the status of invites on this page.
    • You can click Your Pending Invites option here to view the status of invites waiting to be accepted or reviewed.

    • Or you can navigate to the People & Friends section and click the Friend Invites- friends you have invited option.

  • The Friend Requests - Pending page is displayed by default. On this page you can find the status of invites displayed in the navigation links area.

  • You can remove an invite from this section, or
  • You can re-invite a user if there are any pending invites still waiting for action from the recipient.